History of Onanole United Church

By 1942, church services for the United Church congregation in Onanole were being held in the local school and Onanole Hall. Services were led by either student ministers or ordained circuit ministers.

During 1955, the congregation began looking for a building they could use for a church. The 65 year old Baptist Church in Neepawa was bought and moved by Mr. Vic Minty in April 1956. The Dedication service of Onanole United Church was April 28, 1957 in the village of Onanole by the Revs. Harland, Murray, Hales, Hambley and Anderson. In November 1965, a dedication service was held at the plot of donated land to be used as a cemetery.

The first board consisted of Elders Jack Reid, Howard McCrachen, Thornton Baxer and Norman Halstead; Stewards William Campbell, Wally Hutton, Dave Reid and Earl Burnett; Trustees Thornton Baxter, William Campbell and Norman Halstead; with Secretary-Treasurer Doris Neal succeeding Ralph Frith.

In 1995, due to lack of membership and funds, it was voted that the church building be closed after the final worship service in September. It was at this time that Onanole United Church would continue as a congregation, and would explore the possibilities of worshipping and sharing the ministry with Erickson Lutheran Church, joined in common worship services and other activities.

The last board members were Bernice McArthur (chairperson), Leona Kucher (secretary/treasurer), Isabella Proven and Bea Fink. Flo Scott serves as presbytery representative.

In December 1998, a fire completely destroyed the 108 year old building known as Onanole United Church.

We are thankful to God for the people and pastors who have come and gone over the years to help us provide Christian service in Onanole, Clear Lake and Erickson areas.

Information for historical articles has been taken from the “Forest to Field” history book of the Rural Municipality of Clanwilliam, and the “Onanole and District” history book of Onanole and area.